||Action Corner|| Colombiana

Hello all, this is Matt!!!  And welcome to my new segment called “ACTION CORNER”.  Being who I am, a lover of action films, how can I not have a segment dedicated to action.  I started this with my Abduction trailer post, but this will be the official first post.  I will discuss the new action movie trailers as they come out, whether it be a HUGE BUDGET movie like Transformers: Dark of the Moon to something low budget and straight-to-dvd like Blood Out or The Hit List.

Right now I will be discussing Colombiana, the new action film starring Zoe Saldana, from the writers of Taken, producer Luc Besson, and director Olivier Megaton, the director of Transporter 3.

Luc Besson, the director of Nikita, is going back to something that gave him a lot of success…a female kicking ass.  If there’s one thing that I know, it’s that Besson is knows how to produce an action film.  The last film he produced was 2010’s From Paris With Love with John Travolta and Jonathan Rhys Meyers.  While that was not a good movie, it was an extremely exciting action film and one of my personal favorites of the year.  I always look forward to films produced by this man, cause I’m always in for a good time.

Colombiana looks like a fun ride.  The only questionable thing for me is Zoe Saldana.  I’ve seen her handle herself in ensemble action films like The Losers and Star Trek, but I really don’t know if she will be able to carry a movie like this all on her own, or will I even be able to buy her as a solo action star.  I hope she can because I do want it to be a good movie.  But overall, from the trailer, it looks like a typical Luc Besson-produced action film.

These kinds of movies are my bread and butter and I’m hoping for the best.

~ by Matt Whitfield on May 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
