An ‘Off the Top Rop’ Special Salute to “Macho Man” Randy Savage


The wrestling community was stunned to learn that “Macho Man” Randy Savage passed away on Friday at the age of 58 due to heart failure while driving his car. It was unfortunately another tragic case of an icon to the industry being taken from us far too soon.

For those of you who aren’t a part of the the world of professional wrestling, it is hard to describe who Randy Poffo really was and how much he impacted the lives of not only my Fandom Menace colleagues, but the wrestling world in general. It is hard to put into words how much Savage meant to thousands upon thousands of fans. We here wanted to tell you of our personal stories and feelings of the “Macho Man” as to help others better understand how his death has impacted each of us individually.

Brunden

I was awoken this Friday with the knowledge that another one of my childhood heroes was taken away from me. The great “Macho Man” Randy Savage was dead, leaving a sadness that I’ve felt numerous times involving the immortals of the squared circle. When reflecting upon my days as a young lad, I am reminded of those special times where me and my father attended the church of pro wrestling. We danced around like The Bushwackers, we “Hulked out”, and the sermon wasn’t complete without an “OHHHH YEEAAAH!”. It’s those moments that I remember the most from my childhood. Sitting there watching these men overcoming these amazing feats and defying incredible odds, I felt as though I too could take on the world and be anything I wanted to be.

And that is what makes the passing of an immortal character like Savage’s that much more crushing for me. You watched these larger than life men take such a beating every single week, and somehow they always came back for more. Randy Savage was one of my absolute favorites growing up. His attitude, his arrogance, and his defiance were all things that glued me to the screen whenever he was on. In a sea of over-the-top, egotistical characters, he managed to stand out form the rest. From he reign as “The Macho King”, to his on and off love story with his real life wife Miss Elizabeth, to his time as a member of the nWo, Savage maintained a true sense of originality and professionalism that defined who he was both in and out of the ring.

After all the championships, after all the victories and defeats, you are left with a damn fine wrestler who helped shape the business and led it to where it is today. So many wrestlers have been inspired from Randy Savage, and it is safe to say that his legacy will continue on forever. We have lost a great man in Randy Poffo, but the immortal “Macho Man” Randy Savage will live on as one of the greatest wrestlers of all time.

Nick

Over the years there have been many characters in wrestling. There have been numerous “animals”, a few “giants”, a couple of “killers”, and even two “Nature Boys”. There will only be one “Macho Man”. Randy Savage was in my mind the greatest wrestler to come out of the World Wrestling Federation in the 1980’s. At the time Hulkamania was running wild and the country full of young Hulksters were training, saying their prayers, taking their vitamins and believing in the power of Hulkamania, wearing yellow and red and ruining their shirts by tearing them open like Hulk would do.  I like much of my life, didn’t fall for what all the other kids were into. My guy was the guy with everything Hogan had, but much more. The Madness had begun.

Randy Savage walked to the ring in the most amazing ring attire I had ever seen. Everything with Savage was bigger, grander and flashier. From his hats,and his sunglasses to the robes, and capes, Randy Savage was the biggest character the wrestling. He wasn’t the first to do the flash not by a long shot, but in my opinion he did it the best. Over the years there have been great wrestlers who have come into the ring in fancy robes, and ring attire, with their hair all fancied up and making astonishing entrances.  Men like Gorgeous George, Buddy Rogers, “Superstar” Billy Graham, Ric Flair, and Jesse “The Body” Ventura, all came to the ring with bigger than life personas, but many of them seem to be just wearing a costume. With Randy Savage you got the feeling that he’d be like that while heading to the grocery store. He was in the truest sense of the word a superstar.

Aside from his looks and his ring attire, what really shined once the match started, was his ability. His matches, every one of them, were masterpieces. Every so often he’d be in the ring with someone less capable, and he had the ability to make the worst of the worst look like a Ric Flair. Whenever you mention Randy Savage and wrestling 9 times out of 10 you will have someone bring up his match with Ricky Steamboat at Wrestlemania III. This match is responsible for starting so many careers for so many superstars today. The match only lasted about fifteen minutes but in that short time there were 20 near falls, “2 counts”, each man wanting the win and the WWF Intercontinental title for their own. It really is a clinic in a way. While most of the world tuned in to see Hulk Hogan vs. Andre the Giant, it really was Savage vs. Steamboat that stole the show.  Steamboat ended up winning the match and winning the belt, but it was just as much Savage’s moment as it was Ricky’s. Hands down if you as anyone who is a wrestling fan they will tell you the best elbow off the top rope was from Randy Savage.  There was never a bad one given, he never missed or over shot, or really hurt himself or anyone else, Macho was in a class of his own in the WWF.  The one move he used to do that I still look forward to in his matches, and that was when he’d grab an opponent by the hair, throw himself over the top rope and use his momentum to drive the other guys throat into the top rope.

I had never seen anything like that at the time and see very few in ring innovations like that to this day. Many people when they hear Randy Savage think of two things really, his voice and Slim Jims.  Hell, he’s probably the reason I love the damn things so much, but when you heard him ask the question “Need a little excitement?” you knew the answer would be “Snap into a Slim Jim, OOOOOOhhhhh Yeeeeeeeeaaah”.

Oooooohhhhhh Yeeeeeeaaaaahhhhh, is Macho Man summed up into two very drawn out words, but words were never anything that he had a problem with.  He is one of the very best when it comes to mic skills and cutting a promo.  That voice, and the intensity in his words coming together in a perfect storm of the madness he talked about.  There are many who could take a microphone and tell you what they were gonna do in their match, and yell, and shout, and get across that they hated that person for some reason that would dissolve almost as soon as the match was over, but there was one thing lacking and that one thing was the intensity.  Real intensity not just yelling and spitting, but the ability to make you believe that what you are about to see is a match between true enemies whose rivalry will be over when one of those two is dead and gone.  His feuds with Steamboat, Hogan, Flair, and Dusty Rhodes stand out in my mind as some of the very best in all of wrestling history, and a lot of that was the belief that these two absolutely despised each other. Randy Savage used his words to connect with us and used his skills to make us all believe that he could do anything.

When I woke up on Friday and I had received a text from Chris Martin (old member of the FM) letting me know that Randy had died, I did something that most people do, I checked the internet to make sure.  These days people are falsely killed all the time, so I had to see for myself. I read it on my wrestling news website I check every day that he had been killed in a car accident.  Sad to say I felt a little relieved, not because it was true, but I was glad that it hadn’t been from a drug overdose.  In the past few years there have been a number of wrestling greats who have been taken from us because of substance abuse and I didn’t wanna see another one of my heroes portrayed in such a negative light. I had hoped for some time now that we would get to see him back in the WWE, and inducted into the hall of fame where he belongs. Sadly if he is inducted we won’t get to see him make one of his wonderful speeches. We won’t ever hear that OOOOooooohhhhhh YYYYyyyyyeeeeeaaaaahhhhh again. Even now as I write this I am watching some stupid movie on TV and there sitting next to the set is my Randy Savage action figure all dressed up in his cowboy hat and jacket with the tassels and it makes me sad, and miss him very much. There was always the hope of one more match. I guess that will never happen, but he will live on in my mind and in my heart and in the hearts of others, and he will remain timeless in all those old matches. I’m sure if there is a heaven he is up there now decked out in the fanciest outfit of all with Miss Elizabeth at his side like the good old days.  Rest in peace Randy.  The Madness will continue…

From the bottom of our hearts, R.I.P “Macho Man”…

~ by Brandon Gnuschke on May 23, 2011.

2 Responses to “An ‘Off the Top Rop’ Special Salute to “Macho Man” Randy Savage”

  1. I know my pic is in the header and I didn’t say anything, but there is nothing I could have said that Brunden and Nick didn’t already say. I will leave mine short and sweet……”OOOOOOOOHHHHHHH YYYYYEEEEEAAAAHHHH”

  2. AND THEIR WORDS WERE JUST BEAUTIFUL!!!

Leave a Reply

 
